Teichner Scholars Program

The AAPDP and the AADPRT are pleased to announce the Victor J. Teichner Award to promote the teaching of psychodynamic principles to psychiatrists-in-training.

Victor J. Teichner, a former President of the AAPDP, was a respected psychiatrist/psychoanalyst who died at the age of 56. The award was created in his name as the result of a donation from a grateful patient.  She wishes to ensure that Dr. Teichner’s creative psychodynamic approach will be part of the learning of the next generation of psychiatric clinicians.  She honors his extraordinary dedication to his patients by funding the Visiting Scholars Award in his name.

The Award is made annually to one psychiatric residency program on the basis of an application to the Award Committee, composed of representatives of the AAPDP and the AADPRT.

The Program Awardee will receive a 1-3 day visit from a Visiting Scholar chosen from a list maintained by the AAPDP.  Choice of Visiting Scholar and structure of the visit are made by the Program.  Visit must take place during the academic year beginning July 1 after the announcement of the Awardee.

To learn more about this Award, please click here.

Mentorship Program

Psychiatrists, psychoanalytic candidates, residents and medical students are invited to participate in a one-year mentorship program sponsored by the American Academy of Psychoanalysis and Dynamic Psychiatry.  The program is designed to offer support and guidance for mentees from a range of career stages.

Participants will be matched with mentors who are able to provide support in preferred areas of growth.  Depending on the needs and capabilities of the mentorship pairs, contact may be in person, by phone, or through computer-based applications.

To learn more about this program, click here.

Grand Rounds Speakers

Many members of the American Academy of Psychoanalysis and Dynamic Psychiatry are actively involved in psychiatric education. Click here to view Academy Members that are available as speakers for Grand Rounds presentations.

Scott Schwartz AAPDP Award

Academy Fellow Scott Schwartz, M.D. is Director of the New York Medical College Psychoanalytic Institute and of the New York Medical College Psychodynamic Psychotherapy Certification Course. In honor of his work with psychiatric residents, the AAPDP is offering an award for the best original, unpublished paper on psychoanalytic or psychodynamic psychiatry, written (and first-authored) by a psychiatric resident or medical student.

The Award will consist of a plaque and a $500 honorarium and will be given yearly at the Annual Meeting of the Academy. The deadline for submissions will be September 1st of the year prior to the Annual Meeting in May.

To learn more about this Award, please click here.

The American Academy of Psychodynamic Psychiatry and Psychoanalysisy
Executive Director: Jacquelyn T. Coleman, CAE
One Regency Drive – P.O. Box 30 – Bloomfield, CT 06002
Tel: 1-888-691-8281 – Fax: 860-286-0787 – E-Mail: info@aapdp.org